Full- and Part-Time English Department Faculty

Photo taken by Lorelei Kujat spring 09

Our faculty are devoted teachers whose scholarship enhances their classroom work. 


Chair: Deborah VanderBilt (Ph.D. University of Wisconsin-Madison)
Professor
dvanderbilt@sjfc.edu
Basil 120, 385-8193
Office Hours: M 12:30-2:30, T/Th 2-3

Medieval literature; Chaucer specifically; and the History of English.

Full Time Faculty

Melissa Bloom Bissonette (Ph.D. City University of New York)
Assistant Professor

mbloom@sjfc.edu
Basil 131, 385-7397
Office Hours: T/Th 2-4, F by appointment.

18th Century Literature; Theatre; Law

Jim Bowman (Ph.D. University of Arizona)
Assistant Professor
jbowman@sjfc.edu
Basil 128, 899-3791
Office Hours: MWF 10-11, M 1:30-2:30, W 5-6

Travel writing; rhetoric

Stephen Brauer (Ph.D. New York University)
Associate Professor, Associate Dean of the School of Arts and Sciences

sbrauer@sjfc.edu
Basil 111, 385-8168

Am. Lit and Culture; Modernism; Harlem Renaissance; interdisciplinarity; cultural criticism

Sharon Delmendo (Ph.D. SUNY-Buffalo)
Professor
sdelmendo@sjfc.edu
Basil 123, 385-8216
Office Hours: T/Th 8:30-9:30, T 5:15-6:16 and by appointment

19th Century American Literature; Multicultural Lit.

 

Rik Hunter (Ph.D. University of Wisconsin-Madison)
Assistant Professor
rhunter@sjfc.edu
Basil 114, 385.5269

M. J. Iuppa, (MFA, Pacific Lutheran U; M.A. Creative Writing, SUNY Brockport)
Writer-in-Residence
miuppa@sjfc.edu
Basil 121, 385-8412
Office Hours: M 10-12, W 10-12, F by appointment

Creative writing

Lisa Jadwin (Ph.D. Princeton University)
Professor
ljadwin@sjfc.edu
Basil 110, 385-8192
Office Hours: T/Th 9-9:30, W 2:30-4:30

Nineteenth and twentieth-century American and British literature; writing; literature and medicine; detective fiction.

Arlette Miller Smith (Ph.D. SUNY at Buffalo)
Associate Professor
asmith@sjfc.edu
Fay 102, 385-8212
Office Hours: T 10:30-11:30; W 1:30-2:30; Th 10:00-11:00; and by appt

African American Literature, Women and Gender Studies

David Sanders (Ph.D. Cornell University)
Professor Emeritus
dsanders@sjfc.edu
Basil 128, 385-8214
Office Hours: MWF 10:05-11, and by appointment

Eighteenth and nineteenth-century British lit; modern American; biblical literature.

Jill Swiencicki (Ph.D., Miami University [Ohio])
Assistant Professor
jswiencicki@sjfc.edu
Basil 115, 385-8214

Deborah Uman (Ph.D. University of Colorado)
Associate Professor
duman@sjfc.edu
Basil 109, 385-5258
Office Hours: MW 11-12:30, and by appointment

Renaissance; Shakespeare

William Waddell (Ph.D. University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill)
Professor
bwaddell@sjfc.edu
Basil 130, 385-8209
Office Hours: M-F 10:30-11:30, and by appointment

Twentieth-century literature (British and American); poetry; African-American literature.

Part-Time Faculty

Catherine Agar (MA University of Rochester)
cagar@sjfc.edu
Office hours:  MW 11:00-12:00

Victorian literature; Renaissance; religion

 

Matthew Anderson
manderson@sjfc.edu
Basil 022A

 

Ann Anthony
(MA University of Virginia)
aanthony@sjfc.edu
Basil 022A
Office hours: T-TH 9 - 10:45 and by appt.

Professional Writing, Creative Writing, Literature, Film Studies

 

Maureen Barry
M.S. in Multidisciplinary Studies, RIT
Office Basil 022
Office hours: F 11:30 - 2:30 or by appointment

Lisa Cunningham (Ph.D. Ohio University)
lcunningham@sjfc.edu
Basil 022, 899-3723
Office Hours: T/Th 12:30-1:40

Women's Studies; Victorian Literature

Sarah Freligh
sfreligh@sjfc.edu
Basil 012A, 385-8150

Creative Writing

Dee Hogan
dhogan@sjfc.edu
Basil 022A

Memoir; Creative Writing

Greg Lattanzio
glattanzio@sjfc.edu
Basil 022A

Jennifer Litt (MA, Chelsea College, University of London, England Humanities (1980); MA, Salve Regina College, Newport, Rhode island Human Awareness and Development (1983) Secondary English Certification; MS, St. John Fisher College, Rochester, New York Education Leadership (2005)
jlitt@sjfc.edu
Basil 022

Office Hours: MW 10:00-11:30

 

Amy McAlpine
amcalpine@sjfc.edu
Office Basil 022A

Theresa Nicolay (Ph.D. University of Rochester)
Assistant Professor, Director of the Writing Center
tnicolay@sjfc.edu
Writing Center: Top Floor, Golisano Gateway, Basil
385-8147
 

Fionnuala Regan
fregan@sjfc.edu
Office Basil 022, 385-7299

Jonathan Rich (M.A, University of Missouri-Columbia; M.B.A, New York University)
jrich@sjfc.edu
Basil 012A, 385-7398

Adolescent lit; Creative Writing

 

Jessica Weintraub
jweintraub@sjfc.edu
Office Basil 022A
PhD University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Office hrs T/R: 2-3

Creative Writing (Fiction and Poetry), Multiethnic/Multicultural Lit, and Literature about Science

Bridgette Yaxley (M.S. in Education, Suny Brockport)
byaxley@sjfc.edu
Office Basil 022A

Ethnographic Qualitative Research Methodology, Web 2.0 Digital Literacies, & Multiple Genres in English Literature and Film.

 

©English Department, St. John Fisher College, 1997-2004. All rights reserved.
Last updated Thursday, May 31, 2012. Web design and maintenance by Prof. Lisa Jadwin.